Saturday, 11 July 2009

Scottish Chess Championship 2009 (Edinburgh City Chambers) & Past Winners

Edinburgh City Chambers
[Photo by © ronnie leask, Creative Commons]

The Scottish Chess Championship is the oldest continually running chess event in the world, with an unbroken link since 1884. The event is currently being held at the Edinburgh City Chambers (High St, Edinburgh) from 1th - 19th July (official site).

Grandmaster participants in this year's championship include:
  • Arakhamia-Grant, Keti (Scotland, Elo 2506)
  • Hebden, Mark (England, Elo 2468)
  • Markos, Jan (Slovakia, Elo 2555)
  • McNab, Colin (Scotland, Elo 2474)
  • Motwani, Paul (Scotland, Elo 2503)
  • Panchanathan, Magesh Chandran (India, Elo 2493)
  • Prasad, S. Arun (India, 2556)
  • Rowson, Jonathan (Scotland, Elo 2591)
  • Shaw, John (Scotland, Elo 2462)
  • Summerscale, Aaron (England, Elo 2454)
Past winners of the Scottish Chess Championship include:

No comments: